A Noted Absence

Bulletin Letter, Ordinary Sunday 5B

Back in September when we went to the current Mass schedule, I was confident that having three weekend Masses between the two parishes would be advantageous. Even with the size of the church in Hoven, there were weekends when having just one Mass made social distancing more of a challenge. Definitely a great problem to have, but I’ve noticed (and others have noticed) a drop in attendance during the month of January to the point of my questioning whether the third Mass is really warranted. 

I am aware of times when families are in quarantine or out of town on specific weekends and legitimately unable to attend Mass in one of our parishes, and the roads have not always been great lately, but I also understand that this has not been the only reason. Some have complained (not to me directly) about the use of Latin or the amount of singing. I’ve written before about why the Church recommends singing the Mass as especially appropriate on Sundays and Feastdays. Later on, I’ll probably write more about why the Church calls for the continued use of Latin.  

My own reason for trying to lead the parishes towards greater familiarity with these elements is the manifest will of God for us expressed in the liturgical laws of His Church. I also realize it takes time to grow accustomed once again to practices that have been neglected, so I’ve tried to introduce things gradually, and we continue to use more familiar Mass parts during Ordinary Time. I hope that when there’s something you’d like to discuss with me or bring to my attention, you’d feel comfortable doing so directly. It is always more helpful for me to hear things from the source rather than second- or third-hand. 

Besides being less accustomed, I don’t know all the reasons for opposition to these elements of our heritage as Roman Catholics, but the idea that we don’t know what we’re saying when we use Latin has never made much sense to me. If we know the same Mass parts in English—which we do—then we know what we’re saying when those Mass parts are used in Latin. We know that Agnus Dei means “Lamb of God,” even if we can’t personally translate each word. And being fluent in the language used is no guarantee of greater attention or comprehension. Greater familiarity often even makes it more likely for us to just recite things from memory without thinking about what we’re actually saying. 

Regardless, if anyone has a problem with working towards what God and His Church is asking of us in the celebration of the Sacred Liturgy, even if it’s mostly just during the special seasons of the year, they are certainly welcome to attend Mass elsewhere. But they should not pretend that this won’t have an effect on the future of the parishes, number of Masses, priest assignments, parish linkages, etc.

Leave a comment